INSURANCE LICENSED IN MA, NH, CT & RI
CALL US TODAY! 781-341-9010
Massachusetts will finally enact the new HANDS- FREE DRIVING LAW effective February 23, 2020. The law states that it will be illegal for drivers to touch their cell phones at any time while driving except of course to initiate the hands-free mode when entering the vehicle.
Fines for violating the new law include the following:
*Grace period for first offenders ends March 31, 2020
* First offense $100 fine
* Second offense $250 fine
* Third offense $500 fine and a five-year insurance surcharge.
Similar laws have been in place in other states for some time now. It has been a long time coming in Massachusetts and hopefully will help keep ALL drivers on the road safer.
© 2017 Loughlin Financial Group